Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater REVIEW

Title: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Read in: english | Titulo: –
Rate: 3.8 stars out of 5

“Queens and kings
Kings and queens
Blue lily, lily blue
Crowns and birds
Swords and things
Blue lily, lily blue.”

I feel like I’m giving a biased rate if I give it 4 stars, but I feel terrible unfair if I also give it 3. So 3.8 it is?
Is not that I disliked the book, I simply think nothing too important or big happened. I found it kind of boring, and that’s why I’m rating it so low 😦 but it is definitely not because I disliked the book. SO let’s begin with the things that I did enjoy.

WARNING: THIS WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK

Dear Jesus Christ let’s talk about all of the interactions because thank you MAGGIE I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS FOR SO LONG!! Blue and Gansey. Adam and Ronan. Ronan and Blue. Adam and Persephone. Blue and the Gray Man. So on, so forth.

ROMANCE WISE:
What I love about Maggie is the fact that she knows how to write romance that doesn’t feel too cheesy. Unlike so many authors in the YA universe, she doesn’t rush romance and for that this series is in my top 5 favorite. I can not stress this enough, and you’ll know what I’m exactly talking about.
In BLLB, we get to finally start to glimpse slightly the love that we craved since book one. At least the true romance, that is.

We all know that Blue is not allowed to kiss her true love, or else he’ll die. After all these years Blue has lived with this fact, accepting it and hardly believing it will ever happen. But right now she is starting to see how hard it is for her to hold her feelings and not let her heart fall and crush for the upcoming events. In a part of this book, we read “She had thought it was such a simple thing to avoid kissing someone when she’d been with Adam. Her body had never known what to do. Now it knew. Her mouth didn’t care that it was cursed.
I was completely dead by this time, with the slightly touches, the forbidden night calls, the sneaky glimpses, that bloody car drive!!! And the only true witness of this love was Noah. My pure little thing.

On the other side, we’ve got to find out that Ronan was gay in the previous book. Now, you can read about this precious bad boy hardly containing himself, only to release small acts that denote his crush on certain someone 😉 it’s finally becoming an obvious thing ;u;

And simply don’t get me to start talking about Maura and Mr. Gray Man because I swear that’s my new bloody OTP. ( have you noticed that we get to see a romance between two adults in here? Not just teen romance like in any other YA novel? *-* )

PLATONIC/FRIENDSHIP WISE:

I really enjoyed the very few interactions between Adam and Persephone. How she taught him what he needed to know to be the voice of Cabeswater.
Also the interactions between Blue and Mr. Gray Man. How they finally found a person with their same sense of humor and getting so attached to each other. At the point you can see him worrying way too much about her in the cave. Or her worrying about what that bloody Piper would do to him once she retrieved Maura from said save.
Also… well basically everything that happened at the cave, but most importantly such an intimate scene when Ronan dragged Blue out of the lake’s reflection, only to remain holding onto her.

Now, a few things that I wanted to see more in this one was: What happened with Adam’s father case. Did i he went to jail? He did right? ; also, afterwards the cave, I wanted to see relief in Gansey’s face because Blue was alive and unharmed and along with Maura. FINALLY SHE WAS THERE AND ALIVE! Or how did Gansey and Adam got out of the save, what happened to Gwenllian. Did she went to live with the girls again? I also wanted to see Maura and Calla’s reunion. And they giving Maura the sad news. It could have been quite a nice scene to read about Blue attending Jessy’s funeral as well.

All in all, Maggie did an abso-bloody-lutely great job at developing every single one of the relationships in here. Well done, Stiefvater!! You know your shit!

Responder

