The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan REVIEW

the blood of olympus

Title: The Heroes of the Olympus V: The Blood of Olympus
Author: Rick Riordan
Read in: spanish  | Title: La Sangre del Olimpo

Oh my dear Zeus in a flipping cake!!! Why? Why!??!

“To my wonderful readers. Sorry about that apology for that last cliffhanger. I’ll try to avoid cliffhangers in this book. Well, except for maybe a few small ones… because I love you guys.”
― Rick Riordan, The Blood of Olympus

Oh no you bastard, you don’t feel sorry, you do not even regret it at all! I didn’t wanted it to end, but it had to!!! And I guess it’s okay.

And so, I finished. It took me over six years to finish this series ( both Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of the Olympus ). For a while I couldn’t buy the books so it took me longer than expected, though now I finally finished it. And I have not a single clue of what to say about it. Since the very first time I adored Percy and his adventures. With the time I learned to love not just the son of Poseidon but also other adorable characters. I hate the fact Rick Riordan made them all with tragic backgrounds and added more salt to their wounds. Though each one of them grew in character and I’m glad of it. Not as much as it could be, but they did.

Writing/narrating wise: I guess I never truly liked how Riordan build the story. How you find the nice things at the end, just when the battle start to happen over 50 pages, or less, before the ending. Because it makes the beginning a little bit tedious. When I started reading this book in particular, I had to leave it for a few days because honestly I just find boring and like a copy of the other books. Like none of the 5 belonging to the HOO had a true ending ( because none of them had ) but they were mere continuations. So I felt like reading a book of 1000 pages never reaching an ending point, nor a part in which the characters will take a breath before digging into another battle. That’s the only thing I disliked.
What I enjoyed though, was the fact that you can see new friendships, it’s not anymore Romans and Greeks aside. No, you can see Jason and Percy finally reaching the “bros” point, or Annabeth and Piper discussing/working together. Or even Frank calling Leo a friend.
It broke my heart hearing Leo’s story and feeling his pain through the entirety of the journey. Given the fact that he had no couple. Percy had Annabeth. Jason had Piper. And Frank had Hazel but what about Leo? He had Festo? Nah mate, he needed someone and I’m so happy for that ending.
So all in all, I can safely say that this is by far my favorite saga. There could be more improvements, but it was really good.

P//S: Reyna, is my new fucking goddess jfc. And good gracious Hades, I NEED MORE OF NICO AND WILL IN MY LIFE IMMEDIATELY!!!!!

Responder

